CFP: Workshop AAIP'09 associated with ICFP'09, extended submission deadline

From: Emanuel Kitzelmann <>
Date: Tue, 19 May 2009 15:45:07 +0200

                             3rd Workshop on
          Approaches and Applications of Inductive Programming
                              (AAIP 2009)

                          associated with the
                           14th ACM SIGPLAN
           International Conference on Functional Programming
                              (ICFP 2009)

                 4 September 2009, Edinburgh, Scotland

            *** Extended Submission Deadline 25 May 2009 ***



Inductive Programming is concerned with the automated construction of
declarative (often functional) programs from incomplete specifications11
such as input/output examples. This inductive type of automated program
synthesis has been originally addressed by researchers in artificial
intelligence and machine learning. During the last years, some work on
exploiting induction techniques has been started also in the functional
programming community.

This is the third workshop on "Approaches and Applications of Inductive
Programming" and takes place for the first time in conjunction with

AAIP'09 aims to bring together researchers from the field of inductive
functional programming and present and compare the different approaches
with respect to their scope and efficiency. Furthermore, challenge
problems for inductive programming which can be of interest to the
functional programming community will be discussed. Finally, potential
applications of inductive programming, especially the potential of such
approaches for their use as programming assistants shall be discussed.
We hope that this workshop advances fruitful interactions between the
functional programming and the inductive functional programming

We invite authors to submit papers in either of two categories:
technical papers and work in progress reports. Topics of interest are
theoretical approaches to and algorithms or applications of inductive
programming. Technical papers should present mature work on up to 12
pages. Additionally, extended abstracts (up to two pages) can be
submitted to report work in progress.


It is our pleasure to announce the following invited speakers:

     * Lennart Augustsson (Chalmers University of Technology)

     * Pieter Koopman and Rinus Plasmeijer (University of Nijmegen)

     * Neil Mitchell (Standard Chartered)


Accepted technical papers will be presented orally (20 min. talk and 10
min. discussion). Accepted work in progress reports will be presented as
posters. Workshop proceedings will be published online and as technical
report. Furthermore, we plan to publish revised and selected papers as
post-proceedings volume at Springer LNCS/LNAI.


      * Submissions of technical papers should be no longer than 12
        pages, including bibliography and appendices. Submissions of
        work in progress reports should not be longer than 2 pages.
        Both paper types should follow the ICFP submission policy. The
        document template for LaTeX available from SIGPLAN should be
        used to prepare the document:
      * Submission should be sent as EMail attachment as PDF to the
        workshop organizers using the following address
      * Submitted papers must have content that has not previously been
        published in other conferences or refereed venues, and
        simultaneous submission to other conferences or refereed venues
        is unacceptable.


Submission deadline 25 May 2009
Author notification 05 June 2009
Final paper due 22 June 2009
Workshop 04 September 2009


    * Schmid, Ute, University of Bamberg
    * Plasmeijer, Rinus, Radboud University Nijmegen
    * Kitzelmann, Emanuel, University of Bamberg

Technical Support: Martin Hofmann, University of Bamberg


    * Pierre Flener, Uppsala University, Sweden
    * Lutz Hamel, University of Rhode Island, Kingston, USA
    * Jose Hernandez-Orallo, Technical University of Valencia, Spain
    * Johan Jeuring, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands
    * Susumu Katayama, University of Miyazaki, Japan
    * Kitzelmann, Emanuel, University of Bamberg
    * Pieter Koopman, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
    * Oleg G. Monakhov, Russian Academy of Sciences, Siberian Branch,
    * Ricardo Aler Mur, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
    * Roland Olsson, Ostfold College, Norway
    * Rinus Plasmeijer, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
    * Maria José Ramírez Quintana, Technical University of Valencia,
    * Schmid, Ute, University of Bamberg


Further information:

curry mailing list
Received on Di Mai 19 2009 - 16:18:48 CEST

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.0 : Mo Dez 04 2023 - 07:15:11 CET