Call for Papers: IFL 2009

From: Michael Hanus <>
Date: Fri, 16 Jan 2009 15:58:01 +0100

Call for Papers
IFL 2009
Seton Hall University

The 21st IFL symposium, IFL 2009, will be held for the first time in the USA. The hosting institution is Seton Hall
University in South Orange, NJ, USA and the symposium dates are September 23-25, 2009. It is our goal to make IFL a
regular event held in the USA and Europe. The goal of the IFL symposia is to bring together researchers actively
engaged in the implementation and application of functional and function-based programming languages. IFL 2009 will
be a venue for researchers to present and discuss new ideas and concepts, work in progress, and publication-ripe
results related to the implementation and application of functional languages and function-based programming.

Following the IFL tradition, IFL 2009 will use a post-symposium review process to produce a formal proceedings which we
expect to be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. All participants in IFL 2009 are
invited to submit either a draft paper or an extended abstract describing work to be presented at the symposium.
These submissions will be screened by the program committee chair to make sure they are within the scope of IFL and will
appear in the draft proceedings distributed at the symposium. Submissions appearing in the draft proceedings are not
peer-reviewed publications. After the symposium, authors will be given the opportunity to incorporate the feedback from
discussions at the symposium and will be invited to submit a revised full arcticle for the formal review process. These
revised submissions will be reviewed by the program committee using prevailing academic standards to select the best
articles that will appear in the formal proceedings.


IFL welcomes submissions describing practical and theoretical as well as submissions describing applications and tools.
If you are not sure if your work is appropriate for IFL 2009, please contact the PC chair at Topics of
interest include, but are not limited to:

 language concepts
 type checking
 compilation techniques
 staged compilation
 runtime function specialization
 runtime code generation
 partial evaluation
 (abstract) interpretation
 generic programming techniques
 automatic program generation
 array processing
 concurrent/parallel programming
 concurrent/parallel program execution
 functional programming and embedded systems
 functional programming and web applications
 functional programming and security
 novel memory management techniques
 runtime profiling and performance measurements
 debugging and tracing
 virtual/abstract machine architectures
 validation and verification of functional programs
 tools and programming techniques


Prospective authors are encouraged to submit papers or extended abstracts to be published in the draft proceedings and to
present them at the symposium. All contributions must be written in English, conform to the Springer-Verlag LNCS series
format and not exceed 16 pages. The draft proceedings will appear as a technical report of the Department of Mathematics
and Computer Science of Seton Hall University.


Registration deadline August 15, 2009
Presentation submission deadline August 15, 2009
IFL 2009 Symposium September 23-25, 2009
Submission for review process deadline November 1, 2009
Notification Accept/Reject December 22, 2009
Camera ready version January 15, 2010


Peter Achten University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Jost Berthold Philipps-Universität Marburg, Germany
Andrew Butterfield University of Dublin, Ireland
Robby Findler Northwestern University, USA
Kathleen Fisher AT&T Research, USA
Cormac Flanagan University of California at Santa Cruz, USA
Matthew Flatt University of Utah, USA
Matthew Fluet Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago, USA
Daniel Friedman Indiana University, USA
Andy Gill University of Kansas, USA
Clemens Grelck University of Amsterdam/Hertfordshire, The Netherlands/UK
Jurriaan Hage Utrecht University, The Netherlands
Ralf Hinze Oxford University, UK
Paul Hudak Yale University, USA
John Hughes Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Patricia Johann University of Strathclyde, UK
Yukiyoshi Kameyama University of Tsukuba, Japan
Marco T. Morazán (Chair) Seton Hall University, USA
Rex Page University of Oklahoma, USA
Fernando Rubio Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Sven-Bodo Scholz University of Hertfordshire, UK
Manuel Serrano INRIA Sophia-Antipolis, France
Chung-chieh Shan Rutgers University, USA
David Walker Princeton University, USA
Viktória Zsók Eötvös Loránd University, Hungary


The Peter Landin Prize is awarded to the best paper presented at the symposium every year. The honored article is selected
by the program committee based on the submissions received for the formal review process. The prize carries a cash award
equivalent to 150 euros.
curry mailing list
Received on Fr Jan 16 2009 - 15:58:36 CET

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.0 : Do Jun 13 2024 - 07:15:09 CEST